Thermis

Supply-chain intelligence for investment research

Research preview · records as of 2026-09-25

Thermis / BE / The short seller's report, 2026-07-08

2026-07-08 · Short seller's report

The short seller's report, route by route

A short seller alleges Bloom relies on Chinese scandium oxide, naming a Hunan producer as a direct shipper. Its publisher's affiliate is short BE. Below, each route it alleges, with whether a record joins the links.

The routes, side by side

Directly from the Chinese producerThrough the Japanese processorThrough the Thai component makerThrough the Korean makers
The routeHunan Oriental Scandium → Bloom EnergyDKK's Chinese partner → DKK → Bloom Energy(not identified) → Chaozhou Three-Circle → Bloom Energy(not identified) → KV Materials → Amosense → Bloom Energy
Its linksHunan Oriental Scandium → Bloom Energy
Reported · historical
DKK's Chinese partner → DKK
Documented · historical
DKK → Bloom Energy
Reported · period not stated
gap: not identified → Chaozhou Three-CircleChaozhou Three-Circle → Bloom Energy
Inferred · current
gap: not identified → KV MaterialsKV Materials → Amosense
Reported · period not stated
Amosense → Bloom Energy
Reported · period not stated
Does a record join the links into one flow?One link, so nothing to join: the question is whether the alleged shipments happened. A visit in 2023 is documented; a shipment is not.No. DKK buying Chinese scandium oxide in 2023 and DKK selling powder to Bloom are two separate relationships; they do not prove one continuous material flow.No record names the source of the scandium in the sheets.No. Both links rest on the short seller's report; no record joins KV Materials' material to Amosense's Bloom-bound substrates.
The record that wouldThe manifest records behind the four bills of lading the report shows, naming the producer as shipper and Bloom as consignee.A lot, batch or sourcing record connecting DKK's scandium input to its Bloom-bound powder.Thai import records of scandium oxide or zirconia powder, or the maker naming its powder supplier.KV Materials' audit report naming its product and supplier, and Amosense's reports naming its raw-material supplier.
CurrentCurrent supply relationship unresolved. Historical evidence does not establish ongoing shipments, and the parent says there is no direct export now.Current supply relationship unresolved: no DKK or Bloom document names the other.Current, by inference: the maker's 2026 record speaks in the present tense, and Bloom is not named in it.Current supply relationship unresolved: Bloom's post names no maker.

Two separate relationships do not prove one continuous material flow: that takes a product, batch or sourcing record connecting the upstream input to the Bloom-bound output.

The report's other claims, on demand and supply volume

ClaimWhat it saysClassWhat the documents prove
BE-SC-006Bloom uses roughly 37 tonnes of scandium oxide per GW of fuel cells, before field replacements.Allegednothing yet: the figure is not reproduced
BE-SC-007Field replacements of fuel-cell modules materially increase Bloom's annual scandium demand.Inferrednothing yet: replacement is documented, its volume is not
BE-SC-008World supply of qualified scandium oxide cannot support Bloom's stated ramp.Allegednothing yet: a volume claim not reproduced
BE-SC-009China's export controls can interrupt Bloom-bound scandium, including through third countries.Inferredtiming: the rules and their dates are documented, Bloom's exposure is not
BE-SC-010A scandium constraint will reduce Bloom's near-term revenue.Allegednothing yet

← Back to the map